10 Simple Statements of Gratitude That Will Make Your Life Easy & Lighter

Years ago when I heard that being grateful could change the perspective I had on my life and assist in recovery from depression, I decided to jump on board and follow the advice of one of my mentors. I have to admit that I thought that giving thanks to things and people with real intention was going to be easy and quick, but as I was beginning the process, I realized that it wasn’t an easy task.  It didn’t make sense to me then to be grateful for people and complicated situations that brought discomfort and bad memories.

Writing and saying those statements of gratefulness out loud was powerful. Day by day I could feel my shoulders lighter, my spirit happier, and the things that used to bother me and put me in fear and a hysteric mood would vanish just by simply recognizing what I was grateful for that day and how lucky I was to be alive.

Now days I am aware and recognize that all those same things that I refused to give thanks to, were the mold of my current life and I would be eternally grateful to each person, and circumstance that showed me the face of Thanksgiving.

We are living a hurried life, full of fear, pain, suffering, hardship, turmoil, disappointment and regrets, always searching for the external and material component that would bring our souls to peace when a simple gesture of appreciation could spur our sense of value and existence in Earth.  We are all miracles and can be the miracle to others.what-are-you

Gratitude is not a natural inclination and takes time, effort, and discipline to remind us of the many reasons we can be grateful. But it is an exercise well worth the discomfort and challenge.

Here’s my challenge to you: Take a few moments today, wherever you are and whatever you’re doing, to come up with a 10 gratitude statement list. If it doesn’t come organically, don’t let that stop you from still giving thanks. There is still much to be thankful for, if we only have eyes to see and be present.

This edition of Days of Gratitude are dedicated and inspired to every single person that crossed our path on our recent Seva (service) yoga and meditation retreat in Peru.  Thank you for bringing me back to Earth and showing me that happiness can be found with the simple appreciation of my feet touching the grass.

Here my list!

  1. I am thankful for my health, for being able to breathe without issues after years of being a smoker. For being able to move my body freely to get into some extreme yoga asanas, for being able to hear, see and eat by myself and taste the delicious dishes of my mother.
  2. I am so thankful for my loving husband, my friend, who has become my biggest fan and ally. His promise and vows of being there to support me and my dreams is his mission on our time together in Earth. He is the cornerstone of my yoga teacher and activist endeavors.
  3. I am thankful for my parents, siblings and extended family, for being able to experience the love and sense of belonging, acceptance, and unconditional care. Knowing that distance and time are irrelevant when we communicate through the tribe’s love.
  4. I am thankful for the opportunity and responsibility that the Creator gives me every day to experience motherhood from another angle. Raising my teenage boy has opened new layers of compassion and understanding. All my gratitude to my boy, my son, my love, my teacher.
  5. I am thankful for all the lessons and challenges I went through the last 12 months. Inevitably I have learned to be patient and trust the process of life.
  6. I am thankful for the small and free pleasures of life. A guaranteed sunrise, a relaxing walk around my safe neighborhood, a refreshing time close to the water, to the multiple colors and shapes that Mother Nature humbly gives, letting me know that I am a fundamental part of this ecosystem. Grateful for the sun warming my face transforming my gray days into happy and brighter blues.
  7. I am thankful for the kindness of people I have never met before. For your emails, calls, comments and actions of unanimity. When you hold the door for me, when you give me a smile and the “have a good day” made me take a deep breath, when you go out of your way to help me to help others.
  8. I am thankful for having the gift to connect with others from the heart and the strength to share my experience by doing work that matters.
  9. I am thankful to have access to education, health, technology and freedom to express myself, learn and connect from and with others around the world. Making the length of the distances that separates us shorter every day.
  10. I am extremely thankful for my yoga community and Hanaq Prana Yoga Studio members who are making a difference in our county, country, and the world. You guys inspire me to keep moving forward and believe that when you are surrounded with minded souls, everything is possible, no matter the adversity. Each one of you, your bravery, your joys, and sorrows have been engraved in my heart and will honor your presence in my life until the end of my days.

“Life in this frequency is too short… don’t waste your time trying to fix unfixable situations.  Look around, find your path, and move forward. Your prior mistakes don’t define the real soul you are!”

What? Who? When? Are you grateful for today?

With Love, Lorena

NAMASETE (3).jpg

Find Lorena’s classes, yoga retreats and yoga teacher training.

6 thoughts on “10 Simple Statements of Gratitude That Will Make Your Life Easy & Lighter

  1. Reblogged this on Life Reiki Works and commented:
    One of the Reiki precepts is giving thanks for one’s blessings. Sometimes, especially when things are tough or times are bad, it’s difficult to feel thankful. However, looking closely at what one does have can help reveal many things to be thankful for. Lorena has some nice examples of things to be thankful for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

